Tags

, , , , ,

Hooked on Music is a crowdsourced science project that collects data from lots of people playing a series of games, to find out some stuff about music (and people’s response to it).

One of the games is ‘What’s the hook?‘ in which you’re given two short clips to listen to, a sort of A / B testing. Your task is to decide which you find catchier. Thus far I’ve not been doing very well. Presumably this means I’d be crap as a composer, music producer or generally a spotter of catchy tunes. Or, I’m absolutely brilliant and everyone else is useless.

Some of them I got very wrong, eg less than 30% of other listeners agreed with me but most of them I was in the 40% category with 60% disagreeing with me, some even closer. I have to say I find it rather mysterious as the catchy hook bit seems quite obvious to me.

Here’s how I did

  • Nat King Cole – Nature Boy – I successfully picked the catchier clip (right)
  • Pee Wee Hunt – Twelfth Street Rag – I failed to pick the catchier clip (wrong)
  • Eminem – Without Me – wrong
  • Elvis Presley – Heartbreak Hotel – wrong
  • Daft Punk – Get Lucky – wrong (!)
  • Bruce Springsteen – Streets of Philadelphia – wrong
  • Shakira – Hips Don’t Lie – right
  • Take That – Rule The World – wrong
  • Berlin – Take My Breath Away – wrong
  • Tatu – All The Things She Said – wrong
  • Mungo Jerry – In the Summertime – wrong
  • Elbow – Grounds for Divorce – right
  • Roy Orbison – Pretty Woman – wrong
  • Doris Day – Que sera sera – wrong (I was in the 25% who thought the clip I picked was catchier than the other one, I am really bad at this).
  • Shakira – Wherever, whenever – wrong. 15% thought the clip I picked was catchier – what is wrong with me 😉

The other games are

  • Recognise that tune?
  • Time Trial
  • In a Row

and on the bottom left there’s a little icon you can click to fill in some details about you to help the science / data collectors.

Here are a couple of people playing the ‘Recognise that tune?’