Tags

, , , , , ,

Not being a fan of opera I’ve never paid attention to the Royal Opera House’s website but fortunately @schrokit does and found this gem of a talk on Tuesday evening. This talk seems like it was precisely calibrated to be very suitable for me, alas I can’t actually go – but at least I know I need to pay more attention to ROH! I see from the link below that the event will be filmed so fingers crossed I’ll be able to catch it later.

Insights: The Art and Science of Theatre Acoustics
Clore Studio Upstairs, Tuesday 1 March 2016, 7.30pm, £7-14
http://www.roh.org.uk/insights/insights-the-art-and-science-of-theatre-acoustics

“Is there a perfect design for a lyric theatre or concert hall? In partnership with the Institute of Physics, join leading scientists and artists as they discuss how acoustics can make or break a performance.”

I’m not sure if Prof Trevor Cox is speaking at this event but his book (Sonic Wonderland: a scientific odyssey of sound) is rather good fun.