Tags

, , , , , , ,

Does this happen every year and I’ve just not noticed before? There are LOADS of film-music events happening this Autumn. I’ve been to a couple already this year and it seems like there are plenty more. Hooray!

Here’s what I’ve found from a mixture of push-notifications (including email alerts and ‘you might also like’) and hand-searching of events listings happening (mostly in London). I’m certain I’ll have missed stuff so please let me know (jo.brodie at gmail.com or @jobrodie).

In fact there’s so much I’ve put in a table of contents!

First there’s an events listing and then, because the BBC has a whole series of TV and radio programming devoted to film music there’s a section for that which will expand as I hear about broadcast dates. Apparently Richard Klein, formerly BBC4 now at ITV, was behind the commissioning of this so I send grateful thanks to him.

Below that there’s some information about resources and venues which have previously hosted ‘film music stuff’ and which, by my logic, may do so again.

You might also like London: Open Air Cinema Screenings 2013, published on my main blog.

1. Live events, by month
2. TV and radio – BBCSoundofCinema season starts Thursday 12 September 2013.
3. Resources (and course…s)

1. Live events, by month

August 2013

September

October

November

December

2. TV and radio

I’ve already written a post on this after the BBC announced its September special on Film Music (don’t miss the PDF in the ‘Related downloads’ panel on the right of that page) . Keep an eye on the hashtag #BBCSoundofCinema.

I’ll add more when I have the broadcast dates.

  • Thursday 12 September 2013 – episode 1 of BBC Sound of Cinema, on BBC Four.
  • Friday 13 September 2013 – Film 65 Prom will be broadcast

3. Resources (and course…s)

Regular things worth keeping an eye on

  • Sundance London has existed for the past two years and in both of the festivals they’ve had an ‘Art of the Score’ with a composer talking about their work, so I have learned to haunt their programme listing. In what might be an unusual and delightful case of stuff landing in my lap I heard of this London festival solely because they started following me (! – though I do live in Greenwich and tweet about film stuff a fair bit).
  • The Proms – there are annual Film Music Proms at the Royal Albert Hall and discussions at the Royal College of Music. The link I’ve given there is for the BBC which broadcasts many of them but Royal Albert Hall and Royal College of Music will be the places to go for tickets.
  • Silent Cinema London – often with live performances.


Places where people might play film music, or talk about it
[London]
| BAFTA Guru – Sound and Music | Barbican | BFI | Cadogan Hall | ICA | LFS – London Film School | Royal Albert Hall | Royal College of Music | Royal Festival Hall | Somerset House | Sound and Music | Sundance London | V&A |

While info-hunting for this post I came across a site called Screened Music which is for composers rather than for people who just like music. I seem to have just missed by two weeks one of their masterclasses, on Cinematic Brass. Admittedly they recommended it for people who can read a notated score which I can’t.


Other blogs / blog posts / miscellaneous

Courses
I’ve come across a few short courses at universities, colleges and film schools that deal with composing for film but for people, like me, who are really only interested in finding out a bit more about film music it looks like Birkbeck has a suitable course. 11 weeks from 7 January 2014, ARMC016S4ACB – the module in film music can be done individually or as part of a larger course in Film Studies.

The Open University module in introducing film music into school classrooms is also interesting.